Don’t Fight a First DUI Offense AloneKevin Ellmann2021-09-01T15:38:39+00:00
Don’t Fight A First DUI Defense Alone
Facing DUI charges for the first time can be scary. Chances are you may lose your driving privileges, pay a fine and even face jail time, depending on the severity of the crime. A seasoned Colorado DUI defense attorney can help you build a solid defense while ensuring you receive fair and just treatment under the law. You may be accused of a crime, but you still have rights that law enforcement and other legal entities must adhere to.
Colorado DUI Laws
Colorado DUI laws consider a driver under the influence if he is caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than .08. A first DUI offense is punishable by a 5-day to 1-year jail term, a $600 to $1,000 fine and 9-month suspension of your driver’s license. In addition, 12 points are added to your license and you may be required to perform 48 to 96 hours of community service. If you agree to attend alcohol classes or undergo an alcohol treatment program, your attorney will try to get your jail term suspended.
When you are pulled over, you can refuse to answer any questions until you have an attorney present. You can also refuse to submit to a roadside breathalyzer test, but it would be in your best interest to submit to a blood or chemical test upon request. Refusing to submit to either a blood or chemical test could result in suspension of your driver’s license, and it would hurt your defense in court. Submit to the test and let your DUI defense attorney handle the legalities. Your attorney can review and verify that any blood or chemical tests were performed according to the law, as well as check for any incorrect data that could help you avoid a conviction.
Based in Castle Rock, Colorado, Kevin Ellmann and Tina Ellmann, Attorneys at Law serve clients in Douglas County, Elbert County, Arapahoe County, Denver County, Adams County, Lincoln County, and Jefferson County.
We accept American Express, MasterCard, Visa & Discover