Life After A DUI Conviction
Choosing to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol is choice that has a negative impact on more than your driving record. A DUI conviction has aftereffects that linger long after you’ve paid the fine or done the time. If you’ve been suspected of or charged with driving under the influence in Colorado, you need a Colorado DUI defense attorney who can explain the state’s DUI laws and advise you of your rights and defense options. Your DUI defense attorney will review the circumstances pertaining to your arrest and make sure everything was done according to the law.
A DUI conviction remains on your driving record for years, the length of which varies from state to state. In California and New Hampshire, a DUI remains on a driver’s record for ten years. In Alaska a DUI remains on a driver’s record indefinitely. The Division of Motor Vehicles maintains driving records that reflect last 7 years of activity, so in Colorado a DUI can remain on your record for up to 7 years depending on the date of the offense.
Plan on paying more for auto insurance. A DUI conviction automatically puts you in the high-risk driver group that makes finding low-cost auto insurance very difficult, not to mention finding an insurer who will even take you. If you do find an insurer, you will mostly likely be required to file an SR-22 form with either the state or motor vehicle agency. Drivers with DUI convictions on their record end up paying three to five times more for auto insurance than drivers with good records. Subsequent DUIs can get you dropped from an insurance company.
Your job prospects may diminish with a DUI on your record. Nowadays, companies do criminal or background checks that can go back as far as 10 years. No matter how polished your resume is, a DUI will send it straight to the reject pile. A DUI could abruptly end your employment if operating a motor vehicle is your primary duty or you work in an occupation that requires high-security clearance. If you work in Colorado and you’re arrested for a DUI, consult a Colorado DUI defense attorney immediately. You are required to inform your employer, but wait until after you speak with an attorney so you know your rights under the law and your legal recourse should you lose your job.
Complete this form or call us at (303) 814-2600 to set up a FREE initial consultation.